YouTube Adventure

Image

 

YouTube is a Web 2.0 tool that I am most familiar with, due to my son’s utilization in highlighting is talent.   Initially, I believed YouTube to be a place where people placed crazy and insanely funny videos.   So, YouTube was my “go to” when I needed a humor fix.  But in 2010,  I learned two  new terms “YouTube famous” and “YouTube knowledge”, my children and students introduced me to Chocolate Rain, Mr. Smith, and other people who received recognition from what they placed on YouTube.  Moreover, I learned that students were using YouTube to assist them with assignments.  Therefore, YouTube had become a source of information and learning.  

This week, as I explored YouTube, I learned this is a platform to upload, view, and share videos.  Unregistered users can view videos or become a registered user to be able to upload, view, and share videos. YouTube says that roughly 60 hours of new videos are uploaded to the site every minute, and that around three quarters of the material comes from outside the U.S. The site has 800 million unique users a month and is the most visited site outside of Google and Facebook.

I found videos of my son playing high-school and college football and an interview he did with Ric DeMarco.  I also found videos of my daughter’s show choir and varsity choir performances, and even a video of the play Into the Woods she recently performed in. I viewed videos of street fights, home repairs, performances, videos with motivational and inspirational messages,  news bloopers, TV shows, sporting events,  and footage from tornadoes. Being that I am a visual learner, I love any video that is not longer than fifteen minutes.      A few months back, I  saw the movie Fruit vale Station, which shows video of a young male being shot in the back by local officers and I later learned that portions of the video clips were compiled from YouTube.  

Per Doc B’s instructions, I created a public and private playlist, browsed channels, subscribed to some channels, saved videos to view later, and created my own channel (don’t worry, I will not be uploading anything – I feel too private at this stage to do that).  I didn’t know of the term video-blogger until this week, and I learned users can view what is trending on YouTube, as well.  I have never been one for politics or politicians, however, I am interested in learning more about CitizenTube ( a YouTube channel of news and politics).  

In the field of Special Education, there is listed a great deal of information/videos, however, as with all Web 2.0  – you must have time to use each tool and I am so short on time.  

Kindest Regards,

